arcpy.ImportToolbox crashing Python Command Prompt, but works in ArcGIS Pro (3.2.2) python window

Jump to solution
2 weeks ago
LMedeirosUI
Occasional Contributor

Hi All,

I'm new to python, but am trying to automate a simple model that works when not scheduled.

The model failed to run as scheduled and generated a crash log each time it tried. I have been getting a little bit of help from Drew Flater, who correctly identified my python install as being the issue (I think anyway). I've been trying to troubleshoot the issue a bit, but am at a loss.

I do know that the model runs without being scheduled. I also know that I am able to use the python window in ArcGIS Pro (v3.2.2) to run the model. However, when I use the Python Command Prompt (accessed from the ArcGIS Pro folder), the shell crashes/restarts after arcpy.ImportToolbox(r"path_to_toolbox"). I have tried AddToolbox and ListTools with the same result, but arcpy.GetInstallInfo() works. Attached is a jpg of the Python Command Prompt after I try to import the toolbox. As well as the model and toolbox.

It might be worth adding that when I first tried using the command prompt (arcpy.ImportToolbox("path", "test") [[I didn't have a model alias at first, but now do]], importing the toolbox did work, but when I tried to test the model (arcpy.test.model), the error was that the test module didn't exist. Now I can't even use the ImportToolbox command. Argh.

I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling ArcGIS Pro. I have no other version of Microsoft .NET installed (other than 6.0.5). I have tried the IDLE shell and it outputs "Shell Restarted". 

I am running Windows 11 Pro on Parallels Desktop 19 (MBPro 14", Apple Silicon M2 Max). The ArcGIS project I'm trying to use is in the C:\ directory of the virtual machine. ArcGIS installation files are installed in the C:\ directory, with the program folder in C:\Program Files.