Arcpy 64 bit?

Jump to solution
01-26-2016 11:58 AM
MonicaShihadeh
New Contributor

I am new to Python, and am trying to write a script that would upload a geodatabase to AGOL at a scheduled interval. However, the 32 bit distribution of Python cannot handle the file size (over 1 MB), even when the multipart parameter of addItem is set to true. Through some investigation, I've learned that this is a limitation of Python32, and to do what I'd like to do I need the 64 bit version. I was trying to avoid having multiple installs of Python (as I said, I'm new to it, so the less complication, the better), but if I remove Python as it was installed with ArcGIS, I lose Arcpy, which I also need. So, my question is, does anyone know of a solution to this issue, or am I stuck dealing with multiple Python installs?

EDIT: I should have mentioned, I'm using the ArcREST site package for my upload.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
AndrewChapkowski
Esri Regular Contributor

Monica,

How big is your file?  Python can upload file over 1 MB, do you mean 1 GB?  When using addItem() on ArcREST, have you tried setting the multipart to True? This will break your file into smaller parts and upload the smaller parts, then when it finishes, it will commit the item to AGOL and merge everything back together.

If you have additional ArcREST issues, please log them here: Issues · Esri/ArcREST · GitHub

I would download the 64-bit background geoprocessing install for your version of ArcGIS desktop and run your script against that.  Just make sure you use the 64-bit python.exe when calling your scheduled task.

Thank you,

Andrew

View solution in original post

5 Replies
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

Kevin Himba from esri did this blog post a few years ago

Python scripting with 64-bit processing | ArcGIS Blog

and another post from esri

64-bit vs. 32-bit Python explained | Support Services Blog

Python changes in ArcGIS Pro it is now version 3.4.x