Masters student studying glacier extent change

03-14-2022 09:19 PM
SMangum
New Contributor III

Hello everyone, 

I'm a grad student at The Evergreen State College in Washington State. I'm using ArcGIS Pro as part of my thesis centered on glacier extent change. I've taken a few GIS classes but I'm not proficient.

I look forward to encountering you in the ArcGIS Pro Community!

10 Replies
jcarlson
MVP Esteemed Contributor

Hello, and welcome! Sounds like you'll be doing raster analysis?

If you don't have Python in your toolbox yet, I'd suggest taking a look at some of Esri's sample Notebooks. The ArcGIS Python API has an good raster analytics module, and then of course there's everything in ArcPy as well. Jupyter Notebooks and JupyterLab are excellent resources for developing, documenting, and even presenting your work in a visually appealing way.

- Josh Carlson
Kendall County GIS
SMangum
New Contributor III

Thanks @jcarlson. I have also learned a little Python so I can use it for raster analysis and automation. I'm no where near proficient in that language, or any other for that matter, but practice makes perfect, right? I haven't played around with the the ArcGIS Python API or ArcPy yet--I'm kind of scared of them--but I plan on exploring both soon. Thanks for the info about Jupyter. I'll certainly add that to the "to do" list!

Thanks again for the advice and for the warm welcome!

0 Kudos
JerryBartz
Occasional Contributor

Agree with Jcarlson. Remote sensing using raster analysis techniques is a good approach. Here are 2 good articles on rasters and glaciers: 

USGS Tracking glaciers using Satellite Imagery

Retreat classification of 22 Baspa Valley Glaciers

You become proficient in GIS by using it. Start using it and when you encounter problems, the community is here to help you. 

0 Kudos
SMangum
New Contributor III

Thanks for the links @JerryBartz.