How to view results of geocoding?

Jump to solution
03-04-2015 12:08 PM
JerryW
by
New Contributor

Hello,

I'm very new to ArcGIS and I'm trying to get started using it.  I have created an excel file with just one address and I went through and geocoded it, but i'm not sure how to view the results?  How can I add the census address data?

Please excuse me if I'm asking a very simple question.

Thank you

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
ChrisDonohue__GISP
MVP Alum

If you ran the Geocoding process "Geocode a table of addresses" (button on toolbar), it creates a feature class as an output.

geocode address.jpg

geocode address2.jpg

Which process did you use to Geocode?

Chris Donohue, GISP

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
6 Replies
JoeBorgione
MVP Emeritus

The geocoding process should have created a point feature class with a single entry in it.  IF not somethings not right.

Is the census address data you have in the form of a feature class or a table of addresses?  Either way, just use the add data button and navigate to where it is.

That should just about do it....
0 Kudos
ChrisDonohue__GISP
MVP Alum

If you ran the Geocoding process "Geocode a table of addresses" (button on toolbar), it creates a feature class as an output.

geocode address.jpg

geocode address2.jpg

Which process did you use to Geocode?

Chris Donohue, GISP

0 Kudos
JerryW
by
New Contributor

Thank you both for your replies.

This is what I did.

1. I went to file -> Data -> Add Data and added my xlsx file which has 5 test addresses with Address, City, State and Zip columns.

2. Once it is added under layers in the left panel I right click on Sheet1$ and click on Geocode Addresses and select "Composite_US" as the address locator.  I'm not sure for what i'm doing if this is the best locator.  I click OK

3. Then the Geocode Addresses menu appers.  Everything looks correct so I click OK.  All 5 addresses have a match.