Automating a Find and Zoom Process

07-01-2014 07:20 AM
ib
by
New Contributor II
Hi all,
I am a total newbie to programming anything into Arc with little to no programming experience but I'm finding the need to be able to automate certain processes so now's as good of time as any to start learning.  The problem is, I need to get this process going ASAP, of course...

What I'm trying to do seems fairly simple:

I have a bunch of points with unique ID's and I need to be able to export the area around these points from my base map to JPG's at multiple zoom levels.

My process might look like this:
1. Enter the unique ID into a field
2. The program/script would zoom to the point with this ID and export a JPG at two or three different scales.

Can I do this in model builder or will I need to write a Python script? 
Thanks!
0 Kudos
21 Replies
IanMurray
Frequent Contributor
This would probably be a python script, and from your description, you'd probably want to make a script tool, so you have an interface where you enter the ID field you want, and probably define your output name and location for the pdfs.

You can do everything you want in regards to zooming to the the selected ID using the arcpy.mapping module. 

I have a script similar to what you need if you need a good starting point to work from, though when you say little to no programming knowledge, how little is that?  The script I had need to zoom to a polygon that was added to my template map then zoom out a selected amount from that initial zoom and then export it to a pdf, while changing a few text elements in the map along the way(probably not what you need, other than the zooming to and setting scale.)
ib
by
New Contributor II