Select to view content in your preferred language

Intersection of a point and a shapefile feature

Jump to solution
01-07-2015 08:46 AM
JulienTroudet
Deactivated User

Hello,

I'm not very experienced with the Arcgis SDK, so please excuse me if my questions are not perfectly understandable.

For a research project I have a dataset of points all over the world with lat-long coordinates. I also have a grid, in the form of a shapefile with multiple polygons, that covers all of the earth. The shapefile spatial reference is Eckert-IV.

An illustration of my data could be this (with a lot more point in each square) :

gminuscru.gif

I must find for each of my points the name of the square (polygon) he is in, and add this in a file. The name is a property of each of my features in the shapefile.

For the moment I proceed like this :

For each point{

Convert the point to Eckert-IV as newPoint

For Each feature in my shapefile{

Geometry intersection = GeometryEngine.intersect(feature.getGeometry(), newPoint, eckert-IV);

if(intersection is not empty){

assign the name of the feature to the point

break;

}

}

}

This is pseudocode, but I think you get the idea.

This works, I tested it, but it takes a long time to test every point (my feature are 100*100km squares, so there a lot of them)

And at least but not last, I have to do this for more tan 500 millions point. And i cant let run my code for more than a year

So my question is : What are the alternatives ? I suppose I'm not the first to try this sort of thing so I suppose there's already a bunch of tools or algorithms that will do this more efficiently.

If some people here have an idea of how I can proceed I would be very happy !

Thanks for your time !

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
VijayGandhi
Deactivated User

Hi Julien,