Upload file to FTP using Python ftplib

11-10-2010 10:51 AM
JessicaKirby
New Contributor III
Hello Pythoners,
I have exhausted myself searching for code that will do what I need, so I am hoping that someone here has my answer.

I need to automate a monthly upload cycle of maps to our FTP server.  Below is what I have attempted to patchwork together, but it will not work.  I am very new to python so please forgive any gross errors in this code.  Also,  the code is set up to send only one file as a test, but the end code needs to loop through a directory and transfer 29 maps, while overwriting the existing maps on the ftp server. 

import ftplib
from ftplib import FTP

File2Send = "V://GIS//Maps//County//11x17shd//2010BEAVER11x17shd.pdf"
Output_Directory = "//data2//ftp//pub//download//maps//"

try:
    ftp = FTP("XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX")
    ftp.login(username, password)
    file = open(File2Send, "rb")
    ftp.cwd(Output_Directory)
    ftp.storbinary('STOR ' + File2Send, file)
    print "STORing File now..."
    ftp.quit()
    file.close()
    print "File transfered"
else:
    print "An error occured"
0 Kudos
7 Replies
LoganPugh
Occasional Contributor III
Use catch in place of else in this instance, that's going to be a syntax error.

For iterating over the files in a directory use os.listdir() -- examples: http://diveintopython.org/file_handling/os_module.html
0 Kudos
JoelCalhoun
New Contributor III
Jessica,

In our organization, those of us that need access were given permissions to the FTP server, presumably tied to our windows login.  This makes things simple.  We associated a network drive letter (F: ) with the FTP server path (e.g. \ftp_server\GIS_Maps).

If you are just updating the FTP maps with new versions of the same name you can try the following code: (Note: if the names are different then it will just add the new maps to what is existing on the ftp server.)

#Import system modules
import os, shutil