How to use Python dictionaries and update cursor instead of ArcGIS Joins?

10-05-2012 09:23 AM
PeterWilson
Occasional Contributor III
I'm looking for a way to use python dictionaries instead of ArcGIS Joins. Please note that I'm new to Python and would need some assistance to understand your code if you don't mind and have the time.

I have 7.5 million parcles saved as a feature class. Within the feature class I have a field called "SG_Code". I also have two tables called WARMS (i.e. WARMS_DW760 & WARMS DW764). They each have a field called "SG_Code" & "TIT_DEED_NUM". I then have another two additional tables called RED (i.e. Redistribution) and REST (i.e. Restitution). The RED and REST tables have a two fields "SG_CODE" and "TIT_DEED_NUM".

I need to create a subset feature class of the 7.5 million parcles where I find a match using firstly the "SG_Code" between the parcles feature class and each WARMS table separately (i.e. WARMS_DW760 then WARMS_DW764). I then need to find a match using the original 7.5 million feature class and RED and REST tables using the "SG_Code". Then I need to find a match based on the match already found using the 7.5 million records between the WARMS_DW760 and WARMS_DW764 and then match the "TIT_DEED_NUM" and the "TIT_DEED_NUM" found in the RED and REST tables to see if I find additional matches using the "TIT_DEED_NUM" as not all the records have "SG_Codes" within the REST and RED tables.

In short, what I'm trying to accomplish is to identify where I find a match between the parcles and warms, then a match between the parcles and RED and REST.

I've used Add Joins so far to accomplish this, but its running forever. I've attached my model that I've built so far to better understand what I'm trying to accomplish.

Regards
0 Kudos
11 Replies
PapantzinCid
New Contributor III