How to publish MDCS as a Geoprocessing Service on ArcGIS server

03-11-2014 02:01 PM
SowmyaTiramdasu
New Contributor
Hi,

I am very new to ARCGIS and also Geo processing. I am trying to import the MDCS scripts in to Model Builder, execute it as a task and then publish the results in to ArcGIS server as a Geo processing service. Can anyone give me pointers on how to do it ?

http://www.arcgis.com/home/item.html?id=d1289a749b59477cb82228a09d1d0219 - These are the scripts I am referring to.

Thanks,
Sowmya.
0 Kudos
3 Replies
RebeccaStrauch__GISP
MVP Emeritus

Old thread, but since I'm just being exposed to this (right now)....first, I noticed that the github download and the AGOL version are different....the one you get using the Open-Download seems to be more complete (includes demo data)

The readme.md file mentions

1. Download and unzip the .zip file.
  2. Create a folder called Image_Mgmt_Workflow in the root of c: drive.
  3. Create a project folder in Image_Mgmt_Workflows
  4. Copy content of zip file to the project folder.

I unzipped and made sure to move the files directly under that folder (although may not really matter)

It's set up to work with 10.1 or 10.2, so to get this to work with 10.3, if needed you need to edit the c:\Image_Mgmt_Workflow\Initialize_Script_Paths.bat file (right click and edit using a text editor like NotePad+ or Wordpad).  Add reference to 10.3 (assuming default install)  I added lines 18-25 below...  This doesn't appear to be a deal breaker, but may help if you have 10.3 installed but never had 10.2 installed.

@echo off
set var=%cd%

rem This batch file will initialize the ArcGIS version number the sample files.
rem It will also set the current folder as the working folder in the batch files and script files. 

IF EXIST c:\python27\arcgis10.1\python.exe (

set id=10.1
goto :RunReplace
) 

IF EXIST c:\python27\arcgis10.2\python.exe (

set id=10.2

)

IF EXIST c:\python27\arcgis10.3\python.exe (

set id=10.3

)

goto :ShowError