How can I see my raster?

Jump to solution
10-07-2020 06:41 PM
CathySmallridge
New Contributor II

I am fairly new to ArcGIS Pro so apologies if this is a very basic question.  I am trying to import a map from an ascii file using the Copy Raster function.  I have carried out the operation on several files, and it seems to show that the new rasters are there in the contents pane on the left.  I can change symbology etc.  but I can't see it on my map?  What do I do next please?

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Mary_Murphy
Esri Contributor

Hi Cathy - just had a go with some Rainfall ASCII files - and, in the Define Projection tool, used GDA 94 as per their website - and that seems to have worked beautifully i,e. GCS_GDA_1994.

Excelsior.

View solution in original post

15 Replies
DanPatterson
MVP Esteemed Contributor

right-click on the layer and try ... zoom to layer

I suspect that the data doesn't have a defined coordinate system so it isn't projecting on the fly to the backmap/map frames coordinate system.  That will have to be fixed by one of several approaches

... sort of retired...
CathySmallridge
New Contributor II

Thanks Dan. I right clicked and zoomed and found the layer. I then tried to Define Projection to GDA_94 which should be the right one but that hasn't helped. It should cover Australia, but it appears to be this tiny little square in the middle of nowhere.  Can you please share with me what different approach I could use?  

0 Kudos
DanPatterson
MVP Esteemed Contributor

report the extent values as suggested and compare those to the extent for Australia in the GDA coordinate system,

Also, cell size of the raster would help.  All this should be in the raster properties.

If it is a true *.asc file, open it in a text editor and the top 6 rows should contain information needed.

This may also be in a separate world file

https://pro.arcgis.com/en/pro-app/help/data/imagery/world-files-for-raster-datasets.htm