Spatial Database View giving draw error in ArcMap 10.4

05-25-2016 12:45 PM
ForrestChevaillier1
New Contributor II

I am working with MS SQL Server 2012 and ArcMap 10.4.

I'm a bit of newbie to SQL so please bear with me.

I have created a view in my database using the following query:

CREATE VIEW dbo.intermediate

AS

SELECT MIN(pa.OBJECTID) OBJECTID, MIN(pa.INT_NAME) INT_NAME,

MIN(pa.INT_NAME) + ' INT' AS CAMPUS, MIN(pa.ISD) ISD,

geometry::UnionAggregate(pa.Shape) SHAPE

FROM dbo.pa_evw as pa

GROUP BY pa.ISD, pa.INT_NAME

Where 'dbo.pa_evw' is an archived view of a polygon layer with a category field called INT_NAME.

The query runs without an error in SQL Server Management Studio and the spatial results look how I would expect them to. However, when I bring the layer into ArcMap, I get a drawing error that says there is a "Shape integrity error."

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

7 Replies
ChristianWells
Esri Regular Contributor

Although the query is successful in SMSS it seems that ArcMap is getting caught on the render part of the query, not the query itself. You could consider running an STIsValid() function in SMSS to see if any shapes are invalid:

CREATE VIEW dbo.intermediate
AS
SELECT MIN(pa.OBJECTID) OBJECTID, MIN(pa.INT_NAME) INT_NAME,
MIN(pa.INT_NAME) + ' INT' AS CAMPUS, MIN(pa.ISD) ISD,
geometry::UnionAggregate(pa.Shape) SHAPE,
geometry::UnionAggregate(pa.shape).STIsValid() as validate
FROM dbo.pa_evw as pa
GROUP BY pa.ISD, pa.INT_NAME

STIsValid (geometry Data Type)

Edit: The return is a boolean where 0 = False and 1 = True. Any records that are 0 would be considered invalid.

ForrestChevaillier1
New Contributor II

Thank you for the suggestion.

I tried the STIsValid() function on the intermediate view and on the pa and pa_evw tables and all records returned 1 in the validate column.

0 Kudos
ChristianWells
Esri Regular Contributor