Register postgresql 9.4.x geodatabase into ArcGIS Server 10.3

06-18-2017 07:47 PM
PramudyaSeptian
New Contributor II

Hello people!

I am currently developing an web application for my client. The conditions are :

- Geodatabase and sde schema are on Postgresql 9.4 whereas ArcGIS server is 10.3

- Geodatabase is on different machine with the ArcGIS Server and both are linux

- Both are access-limited since both are stored in a data center

I have successfully created the sde schema on postgresql. However, when i registered it into server, an error popped-up as follows

My first guess is that arcgis server 10.3 does not support postgresql 9.4. Since i am a newbie in this kind of thing, i really beg for solution from you guys!! Help!!!!

Thanks before! Have a nice day

0 Kudos
5 Replies
Asrujit_SenGupta
MVP Regular Contributor

Your guess was spot on.

PostgreSQL database requirements for ArcGIS 10.3.x—Help | ArcGIS Desktop 

Minimum supported database versions

PostgreSQL 9.3.5 (64 bit)

• PostGIS 2.1

PostgreSQL 9.2.9 (64 bit)

• PostGIS 2.0

PostgreSQL 9.1.14 (64 bit)

• PostGIS 2.0

PramudyaSeptian
New Contributor II

Thank you for the prompt response,

I have 2 questions about your response which are:

1. Isnt it only applied in ArcGIS Desktop not in server environment???

2. The statement said that it is minimum so it is suppose to support 9.4. Or do i perceive it in a wrong way??? 

Thank you.

0 Kudos
Asrujit_SenGupta
MVP Regular Contributor

1. No, its the same for both Server and Desktop. If you check the bottom of this link ArcGIS Server 10.5 system requirements—Installation Guides (10.5) | ArcGIS Enterprise , it lists the supported databases. Those links state the same thing and directs you to the same page I provided earlier.

2. No, the links mention the Base version which is supported with that ArcGIS release.

Example: PostgreSQL 9.3.5 (64 bit)

This indicates that 9.3.1, 9.3.2, 9.3.3 & 9.3.4 are not supported at ArcGIS 10.3.x