Geodatabase question

12-17-2018 07:46 AM
MichaelBarber
New Contributor II

Hi, my name is Michael.  I'm a new Enterprise Architect for my organization and I'm trying to find some getting started links to understand the underlying data structure of our GIS database.  We are using 10.1 I believe and are trying to upgrade.  Specifically, I would like to understand what part of the GIS database is ESRI and what part is our data and what is the recommended method to not tightly couple our data to a specific ESRI DB release instance. Does that make sense?

5 Replies
George_Thompson
Esri Frequent Contributor

Hi Michael,

Depending on your RDBMS used, but in general the tables, procedures, triggers, etc. are typically owned by the SDE schema/user.

If you create new tables via our ArcGIS clients, that are available, it will get registered with the Enterprise Geodatabase tables. If you create tables outside of ArcGIS products, i.e. SSMS, Toad, pgAdmin, etc., the will not be registered with the geodatabase.

I would highly recommend that you visit the Geodatabase space on GeoNet for more information or to post other questions.

Please let me know if you have any other questions. Thanks!

--- George T.
MichaelBarber
New Contributor II

Thanks for your reply George.  I guess my question is more basic than this in terms of putting up a message in the Geodatabase space when I think I need more basic information.  SDE schema/user is just that right- the database owner of a set of tables?  This refers to privileges.  So are you saying that SDE is an ESRI provided schema owner for the "original" data tables and data dictionary for the ESRI portion of the database?  How do you know the customer hasn't changed the underlying tables or data dictionary in your schema?  I don't understand why ESRI has not provided a two database model.  One database ESRI uses and another database that is "data-user specific"?

0 Kudos
George_Thompson