Select to view content in your preferred language

Set interval for tracking widget position logging?

Jump to solution
06-12-2017 07:12 AM
FranklinAlexander
Occasional Contributor III

Looking for some advice here, as I am still learning Javascript, but have been tasked with making some changes to a widget that was authored by one of my predecessors. The widget tracks your path, logs the positions in a log file, and creates a csv file for export. The watchPosition() method takes positions constantly, which while great for accuracy, creates way too many entries in the log file and the csv file. I am looking for the best way to limit logged entries by either setting some sort of logging interval based on time, or by counting loops. I have been playing around with different scripts, and have found one that works fine in a testing environment, but when I insert it into the widget.js file it doesn't seem to do anything. The script basically takes a time stamp before the loop, and another one each time the loop repeats. I set up an array to capture the 'distance' between each time stamp and to capture only unique values (seconds). I then have it set up to log the position whenever the last added value entered into the array is divisible by 2.

The problem I am having is that the variables I defined before the loop aren't being recognized inside the loop, hence the distArray never gets populated. I don't know if this is a hoisting issue, or maybe has to do with the asynchronous nature of the widget.js code. Here is a snippet of my code, and I have also attached the widget.js file. Not looking for anyone to write me code for me, but I am probably must missing something that may be obvious to you guys! Thanks 

targetlayer.queryFeatures(query, lang.hitch(this, function(featureSet) {   

var ResultFeatures = featureSet.features;
      var currenttime = this.TimeStamp();
      var distArray = [];
      var startTime = new Date().getSeconds();