Help with .XML files

03-26-2015 11:22 AM
RogerDunn2
New Contributor II

I am a new GIS user.  I am looking for help to figure out how to transfer data which I received in .xml format to be able to use it in ArcGIS 10.2.2.  Is this possible?  The only thing I have attempted is to save the .xml file as a .txt file and then add it into my map as data.  The .txt file would not load.  It gives me the following message...

There was an error loading records.

The row contains a bad value. [OIDTable1]

The row contains a bad value. [F_xml_version_1_0_encoding_UTF_8__]

As stated I am new to GIS and I do not know programming language such as .xml

Any help or ideas would be greatly appreciate.

0 Kudos
10 Replies
JayantaPoddar
MVP Esteemed Contributor

Hi Roger,

You could try the following

In ArcCatalog, create a New File/personal geodatabase. Right-click the database > Import > XML Workspace document.

Select Data. Also specify the XML source to import

Hope it works!!!

Thanks,

Jay

Think Location
RogerDunn2
New Contributor II

Thank you Jayanta for you suggestion.  I attempted to do this and it gave me an error message stating:  AdvanceToElement: unable to find xml element (WorkspaceDefinition not found in xml doc). 

I am not sure what that means but I was unsuccessful.

What I am ultimately trying to figure out with all of this is how to quickly and easily extract XY coordinates out of an .XML document.  I only need the XY coordinates from the document so I can create a Shapefile representing these coordinates on my map.  I need to figure out a way to get this information out of about 11,000 individual .XML documents without needing to visually read the .XML and retype them in Notepad or Excel.

If you have any thought of how I can do this that would be great.

Thanks.

0 Kudos
JayantaPoddar
MVP Esteemed Contributor

Could you attach one of the xml files for reference?

Think Location
0 Kudos
RogerDunn2
New Contributor II