Using Field Calculator to summarize range of values?

07-06-2016 11:14 AM
KaustavChaudhury1
New Contributor

I am fairly new to ArcGIS and GIS operations.

I am trying to use field calculator to summarize a range of values having different FID_XXXX. For example

I have a geo table with the following FID_XXXX with their corresponding GRIDCODE.

Now I need to populate a new field ( for e.g AREA_OVERLAP) I added after the FID columns :

I was wondering if someone can help me with a .cal expression to summarize or other operations for a batch of values tied to a certain row. I am somewhat familiar with Python but not accustomed to the ArcGIS environment.

Thank you!

0 Kudos
6 Replies
DarrenWiens2
MVP Honored Contributor

Can you provide a complete example for what you want to do?

Also: Calculate Field examples—Data Management toolbox | ArcGIS for Desktop

KaustavChaudhury1
New Contributor

Sure. I apologize if I have not been clear in my explanation.

The first screenshot showing the field GRIDCODE has a number of corresponding FID_XXXX. Each GRIDCODE has a row of data which holds FID_XXXX values which I need to summarize. for example in case of GRIDCODE=0 ,the new field TOTAL_AREA_OVERLAP will hold sum of all (FID_5194+FID_5203+.....)

Since there are a large number of such columns and there is no fixed range for the FID_XXXX property I need to run a loop for summing the values in all columns starting with string FID_% for each row and populate that value inside TOTAL_AREA_OVERLAP. Summing is one of the operation I need. Similar to this I may also need mean, median etc as well.

Hope this helps. Thank you.

0 Kudos
DarrenWiens2
MVP Honored Contributor

I'm not sure how you do this in the field calculator, but here's how you can do it in Python:

>>> fc = 'points' # change to your feature layer name
... fid_fields = [i.name for i in arcpy.ListFields(fc,'FID_*')] # list of "FID_" fields