Select to view content in your preferred language

Uploading Raster data(img format) into geodatabase is very slow

03-18-2012 10:41 PM
karthiklakshmi
Emerging Contributor
Hi everybody I am new to ArcSDE geodatabase.In our company we have Arcsde9.2v and its backend database is oracle10g. I am uploading  raster data into geodatabase using Arc Catalog , but this process is very slow it is taking huge amount of time to upload.. Can any one help me?? how to speed up this process?Is there any performance issue?

Thanks and Regards in advance!
0 Kudos
6 Replies
JakeSkinner
Esri Esteemed Contributor
Hi Karthik,

Are you uploading one IMG or are you mosaicking multiple IMGs into a single raster dataset within the SDE geodatabase?
0 Kudos
VinceAngelo
There's a huge number of variables that go into raster loading performance.  Some of them
are under your control (like the Oracle tuning and compression options) some not (like the
performance of the 9.2 raster processing libraries).  There have been three significant changes
with recent (10.x) ArcGIS products: Incorporation of the GDAL raster libraries, the use of
ArcGIS Server caches, and the use 9.2 Image Server technology into the ArcGIS product
base.  Each of these weakened the use of rasters within database; taken together, they
have effectively eliminated the need to load raster data into databases at all.  While you
probably have some room for database tuning (which would require starting the load over
again), I can't help but wonder if you should reevaluate the long-term effectiveness of
your task.

- V
0 Kudos
karthiklakshmi
Emerging Contributor
There's a huge number of variables that go into raster loading performance.  Some of them
are under your control (like the Oracle tuning and compression options) some not (like the
performance of the 9.2 raster processing libraries).  There have been three significant changes
with recent (10.x) ArcGIS products: Incorporation of the GDAL raster libraries, the use of