Trying to write a python script to access data from attribute tables

Jump to solution
07-22-2014 09:28 AM
ThomasCaruso
New Contributor III

Hi folks. I'm new to both GIS and programming and am attempting to combine the two. I need a python script that will read down a particular column of the attribute table of a particular layer, then check it against a column in the attribute table of another layer. Both of these columns will contain strings. If the two match, then the script should input "YES" into another field in the first layer.

I honestly have no idea how to even start this. I've read through esri's help section and have a very basic grasp of python but I'm unsure of how to get the script to actually access the attribute tables. Any help would be very greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance! If there's a better place to post this, please let me know.

Tags (2)
23 Replies
FlorianHoedt2
New Contributor III

please give us some example names for a) working and b) not working so we could figure out what is wrong with your approach.

0 Kudos
ThomasCaruso
New Contributor III

This is what's really been confusing me. There doesn't seem to be any rhyme or reason. For example,

Mike Crane was split perfectly fine, Bob Wyant, Bernie Vossler, Sherwood Lidermore all fine. But Tod Shaw, John Markel, Chris Mendell did not split. I checked to see if the ones that split had a space after their last name, but they didn't.

Furthermore, some people who had three names or a middle initial did or didn't split, like "Paul And Anna Marie" gave me Paul And, but Rod And Cindy just gave me Rod.

The error messages I got were:

Executing: calculate field wellparcelloc OwnerLast !Owner!.split(" ")[1] PYTHON_9.3#

ERROR 000539: Error running expression: u"MINNEKINE".split(" ")[1]

traceback:

file "<expression>", line 1, in <module>

IndexError: list index out of range

0 Kudos
FlorianHoedt2
New Contributor III

ERROR 000539: Error running expression: u"MINNEKINE".split(" ")[1]