Selection

11-22-2014 06:56 AM
LisaJermann
New Contributor

Hello everybody!

I have a huge database with sightings from whales and dolphins.

Now I want to sort them and want to make it easy for people to select in this content between e.g. the different whale types and the different years and so on. So I was thinikng about that their is for each year a single layer. But that should be something like a query. Because if their is a "new year" for example 2015 than I have no layer for this year. Thats the problem if i would do it manually.

I have no idea how to sort this problem.

Have you any Idea how to make it in ArcGIS?

Would be very thankful for any suggestions.

0 Kudos
11 Replies
JorgeOrellana
Occasional Contributor II

The database you mention, is it a file geodatabase? SQL? Access?

I am not a database expert myself but what I have seen our database people use in the past is creating views in SQL that break down the data into smaller more manageable pieces. The database admin would have control of which views to create, what data to show, how to break it down, etc.  Then the users would be able to connect to the pre-filtered SQL view in ArcGIS and not have to deal with the large database but at the same time allows you to maintain the entire database as one. Another advantage of this is, if your original database tables do change, the views will reflect those changes as well, and you don't have to re-export or have multiple copies that need to be removed from MXDs or other services that use that data.

LisaJermann
New Contributor

Thank you very much for your quick response

So the database is "saved" as an excel sheet. Thats because the people that work for that association need excel for their statistical research. If it would be easier to store it in a different kind of database it would be no problem.