[PostGIS] Geometry is not recognised

09-12-2011 05:19 AM
StéphaneHenriod
New Contributor II
Dear all,

I am completely new to Data Interoperability Extension and try to create a new connection to a PostGIS database.

So far I have managed to create a connection within ArcCatalog and to display the table in ArcCatalog (see attached screenshot). Apparently, it even recognizes the geometry (column SHAPE), but nothing is displayed if I choose the "Geography" preview. Similarly, ArcMap doesn't even see the layer.

Is there anything that I might have forgotten?

For info, I am using ArcInfo 10.0, PostgreSQL 9.0, PostGIS 1.5, Windows 7

Thanks a lot in advance and best regards,

Stephane
8 Replies
BruceHarold
Esri Regular Contributor
Stephane

Can you select rows in the attribute table and pan to the selected features, and can you flash and identify the features?

Regards
0 Kudos
StéphaneHenriod
New Contributor II
Dear Bruce,

thank you for your answer!

Unfortunately I can't, as I can't even open the layer in ArcMap. I try to add layer, choose "Interooperability connections", open "myconection.fdl" but this one is empty.

Only in ArcCatalog, I can open "myconnection.fdl" and see the layer inside. The layer seems to be a geographic layer ("point" icon, column "SHAPE" in the attribute table), but can't be displayed in the Geography preview.

Do you have an idea where it can come from?

Thanks again!

best,

Stéphane
0 Kudos
BruceHarold
Esri Regular Contributor
Stephane