Orthorectification problems

06-03-2013 02:51 AM
JohnMobley
New Contributor
Hello,

I'm setting up an image services that serves orthorectified aerial images.  A lot of the output looks good, but there are quite a few mis-alignments.  I don't see any consistency between the problem areas.  See attached screen shots for typical examples.

The image service uses and rpdef file to define camera interior orientation, and the image exterior orientation parameters are in a dbf that reference the rpdef file.  The service uses a DEM that I believe is accurate.  The inaccuracies are not necessarily close to changes in elevation, so I don't think that the DEM is likely to be the problem anyway.

I would appreciate any suggestions on how to debug the problems.  

I'm new to this, so I might be overlooking something obvious.

Thanks.

David

[ATTACH=CONFIG]24920[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=CONFIG]24921[/ATTACH]
0 Kudos
7 Replies
larryzhang1
New Contributor III
Hello,

... quite a few mis-alignments.  ...

The image service uses and rpdef file to define camera interior orientation, and the image exterior orientation parameters are in a dbf that reference the rpdef file.  ....

[ATTACH=CONFIG]24920[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=CONFIG]24921[/ATTACH]

David,

It looks that the model �??RAW to RPDef�?? should be re-done in PCI GI Tools firstly. You should combine GCP & TP with RPC to refine this model, at least, a few of TP (Tie Points) for your case.

After rewriting �??RPDefs�?? from GI, orthorectification can be done again with DEM within MD.

++++++++++
If GI tool not accessible (or not licensed), it is advisable to remove those mis-alignment images from the model 'RPDef'; and then use the tool �??Georeferencing�?? of ArcGIS to refine with TPs.
0 Kudos
by Anonymous User
Not applicable
Original User: johnmobley

David,

You should combine GCP & TP with RPC to refine this model, at least, a few of TP (Tie Points) for your case.

hlzang, thank you for the response.