Need help with a search tool

05-14-2015 09:26 AM
JoeLivoti_II
New Contributor II

OK all, I need a little help. Not sure how simple or how complicated this is. For starters I am a recent GIS graduate but not very proficient with model builder/python/vbscript (yet). I inherited a tool that was written in vbscript. Basically it  searches a table, finds the matching information and zooms to the item being searched for. however, as of late, I keep getting a runtime error 91.

This is the code where the error is:

pActiveview.PartialRefresh esriViewGeoSelection, Nothing, Nothing

pfeatureselection.SelectFeatures pqueryfilter, esriSelectionResultNew, False

pActiveview.PartialRefresh esriViewGeoSelection, Nothing, Nothing

No idea what this means. I was hoping for one of two things here:

1) someone can tell me how to fix this

2) there is a way to create simpler tool using model-builder

Thanks in advance for any help received!!

-Joe

0 Kudos
6 Replies
IanMurray
Frequent Contributor

Hi Joe,

Thanks for the information so far.

To answer both of your questions, we would probably need more information, namely the code the tool is using.  Also if you could give us the full wording of the error code you are getting, that can help define what is causing the error.

Posting Code blocks in the new GeoNet​ if you need help with posting code to Geonet follow that link, and posting code blocks is generally preferred to uploading a script(unless it is ridiculously long, which it shouldn't from the sound of the tool).

curtvprice
MVP Esteemed Contributor
[is there] a way to create simpler tool using model-builder

The way this is done now is in python using the arcpy.mapping module. You can either write a Python script and paste it into the Python window, or write a little Python function in ModelBuilder inside the Calculate Value tool.