Select to view content in your preferred language

Help! Replacing Road Centerlines

03-15-2012 03:32 PM
MichelleLewis
Deactivated User
Hi there,

I'm a relative newbie to GIS and I'm responsible for a statewide road network (yay for a team of one!). In order to begin to correct a ton of missing to/from address ranges, I'm believe I'm going to have to begin by removing the majority of one city's centerline data and replace it with better, more accurate data.

But since I've never done it and I don't know what I don't know, I'm not sure how to begin or what to watch for. So far, I'm analyzing the attribute tables between the 2 layers and I know how to identify which road segments I want to replace. But I would love some advice on how to go from here, what to watch out for, and how to ensure the ends of the replaced segments snap to the existing segments, so they become one cohesive set again.

I'm running ArcView 10 with Network Analyst (believe it or not), but I've been told I'll be getting upgraded to ArcInfo soon.

Thank you so much!
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
2 Replies
JoeBorgione
MVP Emeritus
Let's see if I can shed some light by asking a few questions as well as a couple of suggestions....

Obviously, you should begin by filtering streets that are missing data:  No Street Name? No Address Ranges? Flag them some how; add an attribute called 'Suspect' or 'ByeBye' or 'Exclude' or something along those lines.  Type it short integer, and calc them to 0 (zero).  As you perform your filtering,  those that are Suspect, or should go ByeBye or should be Excluded should be calced to 1 (one). Ones and zero; pretty easy right?  That way you can symbolize them and see where the problems are.  You get more creative too; 1 = missing name, 2 = missing ranges, 3 = missing ranges right side, etc, etc.