Select to view content in your preferred language

Field Calculator doesn't work in Arc10 tables

12-29-2011 06:52 AM
NicolaiBencke1
Deactivated User
I can't get 'Field Calculator' to work in any of my tables since going to Arc10. This applies to shapefiles, personal gdbs and file gdbs, in edit sessions and outside edit sessions. I need this function constantly in my work, and filling in records one by one doesn't work for 50,000 records. I've got Service Pack 3 loaded and an ArcInfo license. I know my syntax is correct, I've been using this function for many years. Did something change that I'm missing, or do I need to try to re-load Arc10 completely?
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
15 Replies
LetaRogers
Occasional Contributor
I have this as an ongoing problem (using 1-year student ArcInfo license with SP3). I rename the ESRI folder in roaming to ESRIold and rename the ESRI registry folder to ESRIold. New ESRI folders and registry entries are created, and the field calculator works fine for a while. Eventually it is borked again, and I have to reapply the fix. Now I am starting to track what I do more closely so that if it happens again I can perhaps recreate the problem.
0 Kudos
DanaKern
Occasional Contributor
Please be aware that renaming the ESRI folders is a factory reset of ArcGIS, and therefore all third party tools, custom scripts, and/ or custom toolbars currently installed will need to be re-installed as a result. Also, you will need to re-connect all existing folder connections if data was saved in the ESRI folders.
Windows 7:
***Renaming the ESRI Folder in the C: drive***
1. Open Control Panel > Appearance and Personalization > Folder Options > View Tab
2. Select the radio button to Show hidden files, folders, and drives
3. Right-click on the Windows Start Icon > Windows Explorer
4. Navigate to C:/Users/YourUsername/AppData/Roaming/ESRI