Creating sloping plane raster

06-26-2014 02:10 AM
TimD_Urban_Jackson
New Contributor
Hi,

I'm trying to create a raster of a sloping plane. I would like to use it to fill a gap in a raster for which there is no data, but I have an estimate of the surface shape at the location.

I followed this solution:
http://forums.esri.com/Thread.asp?c=93&f=995&t=268888#829193

and have the aspect, slope and constant values for the equation, but I then found out that the $$XMap and $$YMap functions were removed from ArcMap 10. I tried it with ArcMap 9 on a different computer and it crashed the program.

This is the equation I used in raster calculator (in v9):
$$XMap * (2.75835) - $$YMap * (3.26735) - 27105.9
(british national grid, analysis extent set to the same as a polygon shape file, cell size 0.5)

So my questions are:
1) is there a way to generate a plane with a constant slope in ArcMap 10 (without using python if possible, as I have no experience with it)
2) otherwise, have I made a mistake in raster calculator with v9?

Version:
ArcMap 10.1 Basic
3D analyst, Spatial analyst and more

Thanks!

Tim
0 Kudos
3 Replies
ArthurCrawford
Esri Contributor
You could convert the Raster DEM with the missing areas with NoData over to points (Raster to Points) and create a TIN from that using the Gridcode as the height.   Then export the TIN to Raster and use it to replace the NoData areas only.   

Arthur Crawford
0 Kudos
TimD_Urban_Jackson
New Contributor
Hi Arthur,

Thanks for the reply. Unless I have misunderstood, your method would result in an interpolated slope that fills the gap. However, what I would like to fill the gap with a surface of specific parameters

The dataset is a section of a cliff, with a relatively straight section of road cut into it. The road surface is the area with no data. I would like to add in the road surface as a flat plane, with a slight slope. Therefore the resulting elevation will have a step at this point, rather than an interpolated slope.

Thanks