Migrate from FGDB to SDE

03-13-2023 12:39 AM
Labels (1)
MarGIS
by
New Contributor III

I am in a situation to migrate huge database that contain more than 6 million records with tens of feature datasets and more than 800 feature classes. I wish if there is a tool that could migrate data from FGDB to SDE other than import XML as it is not recommended by Esri specially for large databases.

6 Comments
George_Thompson

I would say the safest is copy / paste. You could use the Export Feature GP tool to batch this process from the fGDB --> EGDB.

MarceloMarques

@MarGIS 

I have been using the approach below for over 25 years, since the geodatabase was first released back in 1998, this is my preferred method when the databasets are quite large.

1. export xml schema only - no data

2. import xml schema empty into the Enterprise Geodatabase ArcSDE

3. use the append data geoprocessing tool to load the large featureclasses

4. consider using ArcGIS Model Builder, ArcPy Python Scripts, ArcGIS Data Interoperability Extension or FME Workbench to automate the data load process if you have a very large schema with a large number of featureclasses.

The ArcGIS copy/paste from FGDB to SDE works well for small datasets, but for large datasets the better approach is to create the empty schema first, then prepare the RDBMS database for large data loads (e.g disable database archiving, dropping the featureclass spatial index before the load, etc.), perform the data load, then rebuild indexes ( attribute indexes and spatial indexes ), gather new statistics, and then prepare the RDBMS database for normal OLTP editing.

For More Best Practices to load large datasets visit the community.esri.com links below.

How Load Large Featureclass SQL Server Geodatabase

How Load Large Featureclass Oracle Geodatabase

Need more tips on how to setup the Enterprise Geodatabase ArcSDE.

Mapping and Charting Solutions (MCS) Enterprise Databases Best Practices