How to find the unknown coordinates reference system for my map data

03-21-2016 11:13 AM
Kofi_Lartey
New Contributor III

I have  several shapesfiles which perfectly overlay but the coordinates reference system is unknown. I need to overly these with other data in a differetn coordinate system.  The coordinate extent is quite unique. I tried initially to overlay with several projected and geographic coordinates systems associated with the area out of which two showed very close displacement (about 60m). Next i tried different datum with one of the 'promising' coordinates reference systems (a geographic coordinates system) and also change the units but same results. Attached is a clip of two of the coordinate extents. I am yet to try the second 'promising' CRS but decided to put it out just in case i am missing something

30 Replies
Kofi_Lartey
New Contributor III

Neil, I must say although i have 'self-thought' to do a lot with my data, i am a bit of a novice. But you are right, the data is old as it was in the .E00 format which i converted to shape file formate using the conversion tool in toolbox in arc catalog before opening in arcmap. I will also follow your suggestion and see what i get. Anyway this information is quite interesting. I will have to figure out how to make it useful. 

0 Kudos
NeilAyres
MVP Alum

Love the story about the early surveyors tying ropes to pigs tails....

0 Kudos
Kofi_Lartey
New Contributor III

Neil, i followed up on it using two transformation systems GCS_north_America_1927 and the 1973 version. Using the +- X as indicated by Capt Wood, but the same results. The only change was when i changed the units from m to Km, but again this is not enough to overlay. My final try is to contact the source of the data and hope i get somebody to respond. Thanks for support

0 Kudos
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus