Select to view content in your preferred language

Calculation rule to create new feature (copy selected feature)

Jump to solution
07-08-2022 10:55 AM
AndrewKan
New Contributor II

Hi,

I'm new to arcade and I'm trying to setup an immediate calculation rule where if the user updates the status to "replaced", the script will make a copy of the selected line feature with the same attributes and also update a field of the $feature.  I've got the update a field part working, but cannot seem to get the create new line feature with same attributes values going.  I'm not sure if i'm using the Dictionary and Feature functions properly. 

Some of the fields are read only as they may be used for editor tracking, etc.

Any help would be appreciated.  Thanks in advance!

if ($feature.Status =='REPLACED'){

var attributes = Dictionary(Text($feature))["attributes"]

Feature(Geometry($feature), attributes)
  return 2022
}
else {
  return -9999
}

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
JohannesLindner
MVP Frequent Contributor

You can absolutely create (and update or delete) features in the same table or even different tables using attribute rules. The trick is to not return a value, but a dictionary, using special dictionary keys: Attribute rule dictionary keywords—ArcGIS Pro | Documentation

For your case, the rule would look somewhat like this:

// calculation attribute rule
// triggers: (Insert,) Update
// Exclude from application evaluation!

// if status did not change to "REPLACED", return -9999
var status_changed_to_replaced = $feature.Status == "REPLACED" && $originalfeature.Status != "REPLACED"
if(!status_changed_to_replaced) { return -9999 }

// copy attributes
var copy_fields = ["Field1", "Field2", "Field3"]  // exclude readonly fields (OBJECTID, GlobalID, editor tracking, etc.)
var old_attributes = Dictionary(Text($feature)).attributes
var new_attributes = Dictionary()
for(var f in copy_fields) {
    var field = copy_fields[f]