Select to view content in your preferred language

Generate unique id/way point?

04-22-2010 07:00 AM
jeremysarrow
Emerging Contributor
Trying to have a point shape file that generates a unique id in arc pad while collecting data in the filed.  I know there is the Object ID number but this does not show up until after you are done entering data.  I basically need a unique id like a way point that the field person can see while entering the data and write down in their field notes as well.

Any ideas greatly appreciated.
Tags (3)
0 Kudos
15 Replies
RolfBroch
Frequent Contributor
ArcPad can generate a unique id using

strID = System.CreateGuid

request.

Rolf
0 Kudos
jeremysarrow
Emerging Contributor
Rolf, I'm a bit of a novice with ArcPad.  Would I do this script in ArcStudio in the axf file on the desk top, create a new field for the unique ID and then load it into the Trimble unit?  Thanks for any additional guidance on how to do this.
0 Kudos
JayKappy
Frequent Contributor
Rolf

ArcPad can generate a unique id using
strID = System.CreateGuid

Is it as simple as:
Dim Test
Test = System.CreateGuid

How is this number being created?  I have code that grabs the max ID from a field and adds 1 to create a new id, but am interseted in this approach....
Looking to test time differences on the Juno unit to see which is more eficiant...I would imagin eht eCreateGuid would be since I dont hav to build and run the SQL query....

Any thoughts to how the CreateGuid is created?

Thanks
0 Kudos
JayKappy
Frequent Contributor
Rolf, I'm a bit of a novice with ArcPad.  Would I do this script in ArcStudio in the axf file on the desk top, create a new field for the unique ID and then load it into the Trimble unit?  Thanks for any additional guidance on how to do this.

jsarrow....yes you would have to do it in ArcStudio.....I can show you but basically if this is workign as I think:

OnFormOpen you would declare a global varaiable.