SQL statements

Jump to solution
11-16-2012 04:05 AM
Corbinde_Bruin
Occasional Contributor II
Hi all,

I'm new to SQL statements and especially within ArcGIS. I'm programming an addin against a file geodatabase in in Desktop 10.1 and I'm getting this error:

An invalid SQL statement was used.
[SELECT FeatureClassAlias FROM tblFeatureClasses WHERE IsSearchable = 'Y' ORDER BY SortSequence]

It works if I take out the ORDER BY SortSequence part, but it obviously doesn't sort at all. I've looked at all the ESRI references on SQL with File geodatabases and can't see my error. It says field names may be delimited by quotes, but that hasn't helped. It also says that ORDER BY won't work if I'm searching in all fields with SELECT *, but that shouldn't be my problem.

An invalid SQL statement was used.
[SELECT "FeatureClassAlias" FROM tblFeatureClasses WHERE "IsSearchable" = 'Y' ORDER BY "SortSequence"]

I'd greatly appreciate help with this issue from someone with SQL experience. I'll also post the code if you think it will help.

Thank you,
cdebruin