Need help with ArcGIS developer tools in Visual Studio

12-03-2012 05:53 AM
VidmantasAskinis
New Contributor
Hi,

i need help with ArcMap developer tools. I'm trying to make an ArcMap command with Visual Studio 2010 in C# which deletes selected (could be all) points from point set.

I believe it should be a ArcMap basecommand.

I think i need to create an envelope to cover all the points in the layer. Then it should start editing and delete those points. But i'm a newbie at c# and Visual Studio. Could anyone give me code examples of using Ienvelope this way? Or something similar to learn from?
0 Kudos
14 Replies
MarcinDruzgala
Occasional Contributor
There might be a better solution for this but i would do it like that:
private IEditor editor;
private IWorkspace workspace;
private IFeatureLayer featLayer;

private void DeleteFeatures(IFeatureLayer featLayer)
{
      //if there is already a selection on feature layer you can get all selected features
      IFeatureSelection featureSelection = featLayer as IFeatureSelection; 
      ISelectionSet selectionSet = featureSelection.SelectionSet;

ICursor cursor;
      //in search method you can use QueryFilter to query features or you can use 'null' and you will get all features in layer
      selectionSet.Search(null, false, out cursor);
      IRow row = cursor.NextRow();
      editor.StartEditing(workspace);

while (row != null)
      {
            row.Delete();
            row = cursor.NextRow();

}
      editor.StopEditing(true);
}

Now to obtain editor from ArcMap:

private void GetEditor()
{
      UID uidEditor = new UIDClass();
      uidEditor.Value = "esriEditor.Editor";
      editor = ArcMap.Application.FindExtensionByCLSID(uidEditor) as IEditor;
}

To get workspace I would do sth like this:

private void GetFileWorkspace(IFeatureLayer featLayer)
{
      IFeatureDataset featDataset = featLayer.FeatureClass.FeatureDataset;
      IFeatureWorkspace featWorkspace = (IFeatureWorkspace)featDataset.Workspace;