Integrating Userform and Excel in ArcGIS

11-23-2011 12:41 AM
AmitMhalas
New Contributor
Hi,

I am a novice to ArcGIS and VBA. I want to develop a userform in ArcGIS. Using this userform, I want to undertake some energy related calculations. Currently I have an excel sheet which has the necessary formulas.

Now, I want the userform to pass on the values to this excel sheet, do the calculations and return the final results back to ArcGIS.

Can anyone please tell me how to pass values from ArcGIS to excel sheet, undertake calculations?

Many thanks in advance,

Amit
0 Kudos
3 Replies
NeilClemmons
Regular Contributor III
What you're asking about is how to "automate" Excel.  That's too big a topic for a discussion thread but Microsoft has plenty of documentation on the subject if you care to read it.  Basically what you will need to do is open Excel, load the document, plug your values into the appropriate cells and read the results from wherever the worksheet puts them.  It would probably be easier, not to mention cleaner, to simply code the functions in VBA.
0 Kudos
AmitMhalas
New Contributor
What you're asking about is how to "automate" Excel.  That's too big a topic for a discussion thread but Microsoft has plenty of documentation on the subject if you care to read it.  Basically what you will need to do is open Excel, load the document, plug your values into the appropriate cells and read the results from wherever the worksheet puts them.  It would probably be easier, not to mention cleaner, to simply code the functions in VBA.