ArcObjectsNet on Win x64

Jump to solution
04-24-2014 12:32 PM
sbrockwell
New Contributor
I'm new to ArcObjectsNet API and first thing I tried was to build and run a sample. Tried C:\Program Files (x86)\ArcGIS\DeveloperKit10.1\Samples\ArcObjectsNet\ClonableObject\ solution. Build it as x32 application.

Results:

- on Win x64 fails to checkout a license. esriLicenseProductCodeEngine is found not being available.
- on Win x32 the application works fine.

This puzzls me. ArcGis Engine 10.1 is registered on x64 and it should work.

Any help is very much appreciated. Thanks.
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
RichardWatson
Frequent Contributor
If you need rapid support then filing an issue with ESRI support is your best bet.  Sorry to ask the obvious but exactly what licenses do you have?  My guess is that there is a problem with your license(s).

The ArcGIS Pro API has not yet been made available so it isn't possible to provide future information on it.

I have 10.2.2 loaded.  On my machine when I open the project you mentioned then the Platform is set to "Active (x86)" on the Build tab in the project properties.  If you build the project that way then it will run as a 32 bit image regardless of whether you are running on a 32 or 64 bit machine.

I did the following:
1) Opened the solution in Visual Studio 2013
2) Deleted the ClonableObject assembly reference in TestApp
3) Added a project reference to CloneableObject in TestApp
4) Built the solution in debug and ran it

It ran fine.

FWIW, I am running on Windows 7 x64.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
AhmedEl-Sisi
Occasional Contributor III
For ArcGIS 10+ applications,you should target X86 platform even on a 64-bit machine.