Python scripting error from Map Automation module

06-15-2022 03:28 PM
Labels (1)
SarahBlake
New Contributor III

Hi.  I'm a GIS Instructor at a community college, trying to incorporate more Python into my curriculum.  I've assigned my students the ESRI course, "Python Scripting for Map Automation" for desktop, but one student is having repeated error messages in the second course exercise - see snip below: 

I'm wondering if there is an issue related to where the Python program 'lives' on the student's computer, and that's why changing the workspace gives errors? Thanks if anyone has ideas on what I can advise the student to try.

Sarah

SarahBlake_0-1655331620694.png

0 Kudos
5 Replies
DanPatterson
MVP Esteemed Contributor

missing a \

path = r"c:\folder\sub"

path + r"\some.gdb"  # -- add \
'c:\\folder\\sub\\some.gdb'

... sort of retired...
0 Kudos
2Quiker
Occasional Contributor II

Try remove the "r" from r"\city of westervill.mdb" and r"\westerville.gdb". Are both the mdb and gdb in the same folder "c:\esritraining\mapscripting? Include arcpy.env.workspace

I have always done something like this.

mxd = arcpy.mapping.MapDocument("CURRENT")#mxd = arcpy.mapping.MapDocument(mxd)

mxd.findAndReplaceWorkspacePaths(r"Database Connections\Connection to OLD_sqlexpress.sde", r"Database Connections\Connection to New_sqlexpress.sde") #Database Servers\***.gds

for lyr in arcpy.mapping.ListLayers(mxd): 
    if lyr.name == "CITY_LIMITS":
        lyr.replaceDataSource(r"C:\Users\***\AppData\Roaming\ESRI\Desktop10.7\ArcCatalog\***.gds", "SDE_WORKSPACE", "***.DBO.City_Limits","")
print "Successfully updated CITY_lIMITS data sources"

https://desktop.arcgis.com/en/arcmap/10.6/analyze/arcpy-mapping/updatingandfixingdatasources.htm

0 Kudos
SarahBlake
New Contributor III

Thanks for the ideas, Dan and 2Quiker.  I should've posted a snip of my version, what it should look like:

SarahBlake_0-1655335086141.png