Printing Service Fails when Layers are added to Map

Jump to solution
01-27-2020 01:02 PM
PaulMcCord
Occasional Contributor

I've created a print service with a custom print template. I'm relatively new to this, so the solution might be obvious but I can't seem to figure it out. 

I've added the print service URL to the web application I'm putting together using Web AppBuilder:

screen capture of print configuration

The print template that I've created was made in ArcMap and looks like the following:

print template created in ArcMap

I had no issues publishing this as a printing service to Server. 

When I use the Print widget with no layers on the map (just the basemap), I'm able to successfully run my custom printing service:

successful execution of print widget

However, the problem arises when I add a layer to the map. In the below image, I've added a layer using the Add Data widget:

layer added to map viewer

But when I try to Print using my custom template, I get the error: Error, try again. When I hover over the exclamation point, the message I get is esriJobFailed:

esriJobFailed

Is there something that I missed when setting up the Printing Service itself? Any documentation to get me going in the right direction would be appreciated.

Thanks

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
TanuHoque
Esri Regular Contributor

can you pls check whether you server, that is running your print service, has access to the map/feature service you added in your webmap?

A quick way to do is:

- log on to the server that is running your print service as the 'ArcGIS SOC Account user'

- open a browser

- try to access the map/feature service using their urls

Also, I'd recommend to switch your print service's Message Level to Error/Warning, so that you can get informative error message instead of some very generic error message.

View solution in original post

3 Replies
DavidPike
MVP Frequent Contributor

Hi Paul,