I can't write to a feature service using applyEdits()

03-21-2019 06:02 PM
deleted-user-hyxJSx81t8OL
New Contributor

Hi. I'm fairly new to the javascript api. Would appreciate any help. I'm trying to write a feature to a feature service using the featureLayer.applyEdits() function. This is part of custom buffer widget I'm trying to build. The command is part of a feature action. Basically, you select a point and click on the feature action, "add buffer", and a buffer is created.

It seems the applyEdits command is being executed completely. There seems to be no errors. But when I check the feature service, no feature has been added. I've attached screenshots below.

Thanks.

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
7 Replies
RobertScheitlin__GISP
MVP Emeritus

Johnel,

How are you checking if the edits are applied? Have you tried logging the editResult object in the response function? Does you layer has any required attribute fields?

0 Kudos
New Contributor

Hi, I'm simply checking the feature service in a webmap. No required attribute fields.

0 Kudos
JohnGrayson
Esri Regular Contributor

What version of the JS API are a you using?  You're creating the FeatureLayer using 3.x syntax but you're calling applyEdits() in a 4.x manner.

0 Kudos
New Contributor

Hi John, I think it's using 3.x. I simply downloaded the Web AppBuilder for ArcGIS SDK (2.11) and started following tutorials online. I'm thinking it's good to use 4.x but I'm not sure how to use 4.x. I know it's probably just a matter of changing the version of the script imported in one of the html docs but I can't find it. Or is there a different download?

0 Kudos
RobertScheitlin__GISP
MVP Emeritus

Johnel,