Accurate measurements with AGOL basemaps

Jump to solution
08-21-2014 10:02 AM
AdamInglis
Occasional Contributor II

I am looking for a way to get accurate measurements on webmap hosted on AGOL using AGOL basemap (Web Mercator).   Is there a way to set the projection of the webmap to UTM without using a custom basemap?  Or is there a way to modify the existing measurement and draw widgets to measure in a custom projection (i.e. measure in UTM10 off a webmap in Web Mercator)?

ESRI Canada did direct me to JS samples:
Measurement with projected map | ArcGIS API for JavaScript

Measurement | ArcGIS API for JavaScript

I have no JS dev experience, so before I dive head first into this I'd like to see what other people are doing.  Surely I can't be the only on in this boat, Web Mercator seems utterly pointless for measuring when the discrepancies are so high, as illustrated in the sample page below:

Area and Distance Measurements

Measuring distances and areas when your map uses the Mercator projection | ArcGIS Blog

Cheers,

Adam

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
JoeFlannery
Occasional Contributor III

I am not sure if this helps, but, in ArcMap I created a square mile polygon shapefile that is located in northern North Dakota using state plane coordinate system.  When I bring the shapefile into AGOL and use the measure tools as accurately as I can click with the mouse, I find that the north/south and east/west lengths measure accurately.  And measuring the whole polygon reports accurate acreage for a square mile.  So, as far as the measure tools in AGOL go, I am convinced that the measurements are reporting accurately without Web Mercator distortion.

See attached shapefile.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
6 Replies
brucesimonson
New Contributor III