For enterprise geodatabases, it determines if the following criteria are met:
- The connected user has the appropriate privileges to upgrade the geodatabase.
- The connected user is not editing data in the geodatabase.
- No other users are connected to the geodatabase.
You can remove connections from Pro or programmatically with DisconnectUser—ArcGIS Pro | Documentation