Terms mapping geometric network to utility network.

Jump to solution
07-25-2023 12:46 PM
VaL
by
New Contributor III

Hi all,

I am very new to the concert of utility network. Please be gentle, a few newbie (stupid) questions will follow. 

I have read some documentation about UN, but still have some things which are not clear. 

I have a geometric network now for electricity now. In there I have a lot of feature classes, e.g. HV,LV (lines), meter, pole (point). 

The way I understand it is that UN has very few feature classes. Instead the "things" are contained in single table and what they are is determined by attributes. 

I read about the terms asset group and asset type. 

What I don't understand is how the multiple tables in GN will be translated into single tables using the above UN terms.

For instance will the 2 feature classes HV and LV become entries in one line feature classe of the UN each with attributes describing their voltage? And which term would this be asset group or asset type?

Or I am completely wrong so far?

Any help appreciated. 

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
BillBott
Occasional Contributor

HI @VaL and welcome! This could be a very lengthy conversation and explanation as there are quite a few differences between UN & GN. However, specifically to your question

@VaL wrote:

(snip)

For instance will the 2 feature classes HV and LV become entries in one line feature classes of the UN each with attributes describing their voltage? And which term would this be asset class or asset type

The answer is "yes". 🙂 What was formerly known as the feature class subtype is now known as Asset Group and a new "super subtype" (a subtype of the subtype)  is referred to as the Asset Type

There are many ways of organizing the data with these two new constructs. One common practice is to put HV in one Asset Group and MV and LV in others. Then, within those Asset Groups, you can further characterize the data by Asset Type.