Creating a Feature Layer for Tracking

01-26-2021 09:56 AM
DeepUppal
New Contributor II

Hello Everyone! I hope this isn't to simple a question... but I have downloaded the Arc Tracker (and Field Maps) app. I can set permissions (I am an Admin on our account) and view the Tracked iPhone on the Track Viewer. 

However when I try to create a feature layer, so I can use the tracks and location services on other maps, apps, etc, I can't seem to connect the tracking data to the layer... I followed the directions, specifically:

Screen Shot 2021-01-26 at 12.52.10 PM.png

But when I look at the layer, I don't see the data:

Screen Shot 2021-01-26 at 12.51.10 PM.png

-and obviously when I add the layer to the map, I dont see the location of the iPhones... I feel like Im missing out on the part where you can connect the feature layer to the data...

Any help would be appreciated! 

Reference Used:https://doc.arcgis.com/en/collector-classic/android/create-maps/track-where-collectors-went.html

11 Replies
by Anonymous User
Not applicable

I think there is some confusion here. The instructions you linked to only apply for Collector Classic. They do not apply  for Tracker, Collector, or Field Maps.

You mentioned that you are able to view tracks using Track Viewer, in order to do that you must have created a Track View. This is a feature layer view that the administrator owns. This can be shared with other users either through Track Viewer or through ArcGIS Online. Any user that needs to view other peoples tracks, needs to have the "view location tracks" privilege added to their role.

You can add the track view layers to any other maps and use them in apps like ArcGIS Dashboards and Web App Builder.

0 Kudos
DeepUppal
New Contributor II

Thanks so much for the reply Aaron! Can you walk me through how to add them to an ArcGIS Dashboard? Because when I create a layer for them, there no data that I can see...