Using 'jr:choice-name' for multiple selections

04-29-2020 09:30 AM
KerryKang
Occasional Contributor III

Hello all, 

Is there any syntax using 'jr:choice-name' for all/ any selections in multiple choices? I hope to get labels in the attributes no matter how many answers are selected. I am aware that 'at' can be used to pull out the value in the specific order, but not sure how I can apply it to the entire answers. 

0 Kudos
3 Replies
BrettStokes
Esri Contributor

Hi Kerry,

Unfortunately this isn't possible using jr:choice-name(), which will only use the label to populate the attribute if one selection is made. Did you come up with a workaround or alternative to this workflow? If so, please share it on the forum.

Thanks,

Brett

BenjaminAu
New Contributor

Hi Brett/Kerry,

I am totally new to GIS domain. So happens I came across this website with the extensive methods to invoke within XLS for Survey123 Connect. Within the PDF there is a section describing the jr:choice() for multiple choice questions. Below is the example used to select exactly three colors:

Table 1: Survey

typenamelabelhintconstraintconstraint_message
select_
multiple
colors
color_prefsWhat colors do you like?Select threecount-selected(.)=3Select exactly three.

Table 2: Choices

list_namenamelabel
colorsredRed
colorsblueBlue
colorsyellowYellow
colorsgreenGreen
colorsorangeOrange
colorspurplePurple

Table 3: Survey with jr:choice()

typenamelabelhintcalculation
select_multiple colorscolor_prefsWhat colors do you like?Select three. 
calculatecolor_0  jr:choice-name(
selected-at(${
color_prefs},
0),
’${color_prefs}’)
calculatecolor_1  jr:choice-name(
selected-at(${
color_prefs},
1),
’${color_prefs}’)
calculatecolor_2  jr:choice-name(
selected-at(${
color_prefs},
2),
’${color_prefs}’)
notecolor_noteSelected colors:${color_0}
<br>
${color_1}
<br>
${color_2}