Using a Survey to update existing data

Jump to solution
10-18-2021 08:59 PM
NickPannu
New Contributor II

I've got a use case which I'm not sure how to approach. I should note I'm fairly new to using any of the ArcGIS tools, and therefore might have missed something to make this easy.

In short, I'd like to be able to set up a list of people, then update their status so it will show on a dashboard. I don't care about old information, so I only want one entry per person.

I can create a survey to enter the base information into a layer, but I'm not sure how to update certain fields with another survey without it creating new records. Is there a way to run a script after a survey is submitted that can update this? 

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
DeonLengton
Esri Contributor

Hi Nick

You can have a look at working with existing data in Survey123

https://doc.arcgis.com/en/survey123/desktop/create-surveys/prepareforediting.htm

You can create a new editing survey based on your existing base information survey by clicking New Survey in Connect, Then choose Feature service and choose the base information survey's service (you need to be logged into Connect to do this).

Then you can set up your editing survey to edit the status and enable the Inbox to retrieve the existing base data for editing.

Hope that helps.

View solution in original post

6 Replies
DeonLengton
Esri Contributor

Hi Nick

You can have a look at working with existing data in Survey123

https://doc.arcgis.com/en/survey123/desktop/create-surveys/prepareforediting.htm

You can create a new editing survey based on your existing base information survey by clicking New Survey in Connect, Then choose Feature service and choose the base information survey's service (you need to be logged into Connect to do this).

Then you can set up your editing survey to edit the status and enable the Inbox to retrieve the existing base data for editing.

Hope that helps.

NickPannu
New Contributor II