Survey123 and versioned feature classes

11-20-2015 09:49 AM
GabeWiebe1
New Contributor

Hi there, I am new to Survey123 and I am exploring how this tool would be useful in conjunction with versioned feature classes in an SDE environment. I have a feature service set up on a ArcGIS server that is set up for sync and offline data capabilities. The feature service is linked to a versioned feature class in a SDE. I have been able to use ArcGIS collector to collect and upload data back to the SDE but Survey123 looks like it would be a better tool with less emphasis on the map and visual element which is not needed for my field data collection.

Is there a way to set up a survey that will create a new point feature and have the user fill in attributes based on the questions from the survey and have it sync back to a feature class in a SDE using Survey 123?

0 Kudos
3 Replies
FasilTiru
Esri Regular Contributor

Gabe,

Please review Survey123 and ArcGIS for Server.

Fasil T.

0 Kudos
IsmaelChivite
Esri Notable Contributor

Hi,

there have been multiple requests from people asking us to create a tool to create a survey on top of an existing feature service from ArcGIS for Server. Have a look at this issue in our public repo and add a comment if you want to promote the idea

At the moment, we do not have a straight-forward solution to this, although it is technically possible. You just need to be extremely careful to make sure the questions in your Survey match the fields in your feature service.

What comes next is for you to experiment at your own risk 

1) Publish your versioned featureclass as a feature service and enable write permissions in it