Reference questions

05-05-2020 08:54 PM
GregoryElizondo
New Contributor II

Hello, I am new to S123 and am using portal for my feature services and using them to create surveys...this is my first survey and I thought I would use a hobby, being a Purple Martin landlord (for several years now) to conduct nest checks and collect associated data from the housing colony (unit)...the data base flow is Housing Units (point), usually one landlord per housing unit, but could be many if ownership changes hands, so 1 housing unit to many landlords, many nesting cavities per housing unit, usually one nesting pair per cavity (could be 1 to 1) but can be multiple of the pairs fail and others move in so 1 cavity to many pairs (just in case)...and many nest checks per nesting cavity...so why the use of 1-M on tables that might rarely change...I truly believe in normalization and only appending new records when something changes...keeps a chain of custody of records for historical purposes...it makes life harder to build the table but i would rather have that history

So the survey(s) is based on the feature service in portal published from a FGDB in ArcMap....The geopoint feature class (Housing Units) that is related to 4 child tables (1-M)...3 of the child tables (Landlord_tbl, NestingCavities_tbl, BirdPair_tbl) are descriptive attributes for different groups of data (normalized)...the 4th table (NestChk_tbl) is the inspection table and will have many records...I will build surveys for the other tables but likely won't use them, those tables already have the data I need for now, but may need them in the future...next season (2021) bird pairs will be new records so I will use that survey more often, even now if a bird pair changes cavities or is replaced, but the main survey for use will be nest checks