Implement auto export of data triggered by submission, that is uploaded/linked to media folder of another survey

02-01-2022 06:04 PM
LMedeirosUI
Occasional Contributor

I am VERY new to Survey123, and am having to learn a lot to get two surveys working in way less time than it should be given. Just a disclaimer.

I have two surveys - one for collection of data/fish and one for subsequent sampling of the collected fish. I need the sampling form to link to the collection form so that some information is auto populated and readily available. We use PIT tags as the unique ID in both forms, so this works fairly well using a custom javascript query function within the pulldata() calculation. It actually works perfectly fine except for the fact that it (1) requires an active internet connection and (2) seems to bog down the form. The pro of using this is that collection and sampling can be nearly simultaneous and does not require a manual download of the collection data into a CSV file. As the collection form is normally uploaded just prior to the sampling form being used at the holding facilities, this is an important point.

So I was wondering if there was a way to have an auto export of the data (as a CSV file) that is "triggered" by submission of the collection form. This file would then be stored/linked to the media folder of the sampling form, overwriting the previous version (or maybe just adding records to it? that seems more complicated). After this was done, all the user would need to do is update the survey (I think of this more as "syncing" the data in this case) and their machine wouldn't need a constant internet connection and the form should run faster without the javascript query.

Have I missed something obvious? Am I trying to do too much? Any help or suggestions would be appreciated.

Thank you!

0 Kudos
5 Replies
LMedeirosUI
Occasional Contributor