Select to view content in your preferred language

emergency response in trail systems

02-05-2011 07:29 PM
logannissenson
Emerging Contributor
I am a high school student in Anchorage, Alaska
My idea is to use ArcGIS and its sibling software to improve emergency response in outdoor trails.  When someone gets injured emergency responders have to accomplish three tasks
           Find out where is the caller is
           Figure out how can they get to the caller in the shortest amount of time
           Actually go to the caller

Unfortunately, those are not easy things to do when someone is located deep within a trail system.
In order to make those tasks easier dispatchers could use ArcExplorer, a desktop application, or a web application to connect to an ArcServer, which would then provide them with landmark, trail, and quickest route data

By having trail landmarks (mile markers, trail intersections, benches, etc) accessible in ArcExplorer, dispatchers will be able to quickly pin-point someone's location if the person says they are at mile marker 54 or a particular trail intersection.  Once the dispatcher knows the caller's location, they can send a query to the ArcServer to calculate the closest trail entrance to that location and display the quickest route from the entrance to the location.