StoryMap Crashing on iPhone 13 iOS 15.3.1

Jump to solution
04-08-2022 01:11 PM
JaneClifton
New Contributor II

Hello,

I am new to StoryMaps and I have created one for Baltimore City. It works well on a computer and my boss's Android phone. However, when I try using Safari on my iPhone 13 (iOS 15.3.1), the page will refresh once I scroll down to the Equity and Demographics section. When I scroll back down to this section a second time, this message displays on a blank screen:

"A problem repeatedly occurred on "https://storymaps.arcgis.com/stories/dcd8dc9a4de54bea9e272cd8a25f02e9".

I sent the link to one of my colleagues who has an iPhone 11. He has the same problem when using Safari or Chrome on the phone.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Jane

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
OwenGeo
Esri Notable Contributor

Hi @JaneClifton! - I'm sorry you are seeing some issues with your story on mobile devices. The issue is the map that is used in that section (e4dddab72f754daeb89ebbdc861de897)has almost 20 layers, and that map is used in consecutive slides, so all those layers are being loaded twice. For lightweight devices like phones, this many layers presents a resource issue and causes the mobile device browser to crash.

From what I can tell most of the layers aren't even visible in the story, but unfortunately, even if they are not visible, just having them in the map requires them to be loaded in some way, and this takes up significant memory resources.