Spatial Analyst Output Problem

06-01-2018 08:23 PM
SadiaNahar
New Contributor

Hello,

I am having problems using numerous spatial analyst tools. When I try to extract by attributes or reclassify a raster file, the output keeps coming out blank. There are no error pop-ups, just an empty output. I included pictures of how the window looks like. The output range of the extracted file is suppose to be between 2500 to 3550, instead the output range is 0.

Thanks

0 Kudos
11 Replies
XanderBakker
Esri Esteemed Contributor

When I look at your second screenshot, I notice that the attribute table does reflect the correct values. The raster in the table of contents is showing the range 0 to 0 erroneously and probably need to have its statistics build explicitly. Try using: Build Pyramids And Statistics—Help | ArcGIS Desktop 

SadiaNahar
New Contributor

Hi Xander,

Thank you for replying. I am new to GIS, so I hope I can be clear. Based on the above picture, the values aren't correct because the values isn't within the 2500-3550 range. So I used Build Pyramids And Statistics in Data Management, I inputted the original denverdem raster file into the tool. Then I used the select by attributes, but this time the attribute table was completely empty.

I would appreciate it if you can give step by step direction.

Thank You!

0 Kudos
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

If you want the elevations between that range, use the Con tool

Con( (Raster("elev") > 2500 ) & ( Raster("elev") < 4500), "elev", 0)

This portion

(Raster("elev") > 2500 ) & ( Raster("elev") < 4500)

will return a boolean, hence you need to use & instead of AND (if I remember correctly)

The rest of the Con statement basically says if the expression is True, then return the value in the "elev" grid otherwise, 0

SadiaNahar
New Contributor

Hi Dan,

This is the con window.

Using & doesn't work, when I try to verify the query. Would I put the same raster for both the input conditional raster and input true raster?