ArcMap 10.6 shutting down - Topo to Raster (Arcpy)

10-06-2019 07:49 PM
FelipeLeite_Nisiyama
New Contributor

Hi,

I'm quite new in using ArcPy and have been struggling with it. I was trying to run a python script that has a loop containing the Topo to Raster tool. The code runs smoothly just until this tool is executed, and at this moment ArcMap suddenly shuts down without any message. After a couple of tests I discovered that the script runs smoothly with the background processing option activated, and the shutting down just occurs when it's deactivated. I just can't let the background processing  option activated since the computational time would be too large for the purpouse of the script. 
Anyone has already experienced this type of problem? Any tips of how to fix it?

Kind Regards, 
Felipe. 

0 Kudos
11 Replies
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

What parameters are you using?

Properties of the raster?

Did you see the section in the help on the Margin parameter?

Topo to Raster—Help | ArcGIS Desktop 

How Topo to Raster works—Help | ArcGIS Desktop 

The trouble shooting section in the last link has suggestions.

Memory resources is a big issue and you may need to tile the original or use a larger cell size.

0 Kudos
FelipeLeite_Nisiyama
New Contributor

Thanks for the quick reply. Actually, I have a felling that the problem is not parameter related.

I ran a test using a simple shapefile of elevation points (leaving the optional parameters as default) and, again, it runs perfectly with background processing option activated, but not with foreground processing. I also ran the code snippet of a sucessful manual topo to raster interpolation, but had the same problem. Just repaired ArcGIS installation, but the problem persists. 

Can you think of anything else that could be causing the problem?

0 Kudos
SteveLynch
Esri Regular Contributor