Select to view content in your preferred language

ArcGIS Engine or ArcGIS Runtime SDK for WPF?

12-24-2013 08:19 PM
MohammadShahheydari
New Contributor
Hi
I'm new to ArcGIS Development, and I had some work on WPF,now I want to start developing my own application that support MVVM and Fully functionality WPF( like binding) and using custome control like treelike, stimulsoft and more,I figured out that ArcGIS Runtime SDK for WPF is not as complete as ArcGIS Engine,What Should I do?
0 Kudos
5 Replies
RichardWatson
Frequent Contributor
There is not a simple answer to your question.

If the Runtime has the functionality you require then you are better off using it because Engine is an end of life product.  If it does not, but Engine does, then you have little choice.

In essence, Runtime is replacing Engine.
0 Kudos
nakulmanocha
Esri Regular Contributor
Hi
I'm new to ArcGIS Development, and I had some work on WPF,now I want to start developing my own application that support MVVM and Fully functionality WPF( like binding) and using custome control like treelike, stimulsoft and more,I figured out that ArcGIS Runtime SDK for WPF is not as complete as ArcGIS Engine,What Should I do?

Anything specific are you looking to do using Engine which isn't available with Runtime? With Runtime you have options with Geometry Service, GP service and also SOE in case you absolutely have to use ArcObjects.
0 Kudos
MohammadShahheydari
New Contributor
Hi
Thank you
I want to use some Geometry services, for example we want to develop a application to supervising contractors, which if we want to know the cost of a part of the street reconstruction, we can click start and end point of the project and according to some tables, we could know the cost of reconstruction?
Or in the  case of Geometric network like electricity and tracing and editing them in ArcSDE or Schematic, Can I use WPF SDK?
What is the relation between WPF SDK and ArcSDE, Does it have a full support?
thank you very much